Pardon Through Christ


…we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sin (Col 1:14).

O Lamb of God, thy precious blood
Shall never lose its power,
‘Till all the ransom’d church of God
Is saved, to sin no more.

E’er since, by faith, I saw the stream
Redeeming love has been my theme,
And shall be till I die.

One song says, “Redeemed, the best thing I’ve ever heard, I’ve been brought here from there by that precious word. I’m free, I’m forgiven, I’m washed and I’m clean, Jesus bought me thank God I’m redeemed ” (Crabb Family).

We can only be “brought here from there” by the redemptive work of Jesus Christ. “There” was a sinful life without him. “Here” is being forgiven in the free pardoning of sin (Rom 4:7; Eph 4:32; Col 2:13; 1 John 2:12;) through him.

Many would alleviate or go so far as to nullify the necessity of the blood of Christ in the scheme of salvation. But without the blood of Christ there would be no remission of sin (Heb 9:22). Without the blood of Christ there would be no healing afforded us (1 Peter 2:23). There would be no covering for sin or escape from death that sin brings (Ex 12:13; James 1:15).

The sacrificial system of the Old Testament shows that blood was ultimately necessary for the forgiveness of sin. Systematic sacrifice was demanded by God for the sins of his people. Nothing has changed that criterion; there yet must be a sacrifice for sins. Jesus Christ answered the demand of God, in that he offered himself as a sacrifice on Calvary so that mankind might be freed from sin. Not just a sacrifice, but a one-time, once-for-all sacrifice, not destroying, but fulfilling the sacrificial law, (Heb 9:12).

“The blood that Jesus shed for me … reaches to the highest mountain, and it flows to the lowest valley, Oh! The blood that gives me strength from day to day, it will never lose it’s power!” (Michael Adler).

Redeeming love has been my theme, and shall be till I die!

This entry was posted in devotion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

