Stumbling-blocks


From Pastor’s Desk:

Psalm 119:165 Great peace have they who love your law, and nothing can make them stumble.

***

Recently, during my morning walk I came across a raised piece of sidewalk. Well, more accurately, I tripped and stumbled, stubbing my toe on it. I didn’t fall to the ground, but the moves I made to keep upright must have been entertaining to anyone who may (and I desperately hope there wasn’t) have been watching.

Admittedly, had I been watching where I was stepping, I would have seen the raised portion, and it would have presented no problem at all. But I wasn’t looking there. I was looking around at a house in which the portion of sidewalk was in front of. I had no idea, consequently, that the sidewalk was not laid as it should have been, as I had not walked that way before.

Every step we take, spiritually speaking, is a step that we have not taken before. Oh, it seems that every day brings something that is quite akin to things we faced yesterday, but, in reality, they are not. We don’t live in yesterday, we live in today, so every step is a new, fresh one.

The word “stumble” in the NIV is, of course, a modern translation of the KJV “offence,” which is translated from mikshôl (mik-shole’), which means; a stumbling-block, literally or figuratively (obstacle, enticement (specifically an idol), scruple): Our English words derived from it are – caused to fall, offence, X [no-] thing offered, ruin, stumbling-block.

God’s word is that which shows us spiritual pitfalls, schisms, cliffs, etc., that are hazardous to our journey, and gives opportunity to avoid them. I am convinced that if we have not developed a love for it we will not read, much less, study it. Thus, we will not see the “raised portion of sidewalk” which might be within our “next step.” After all, the word is a “lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path” as the Psalmist wrote (119:105).

It even shows the “raised portion of sidewalk” that we WILL trip over as we are looking elsewhere.

To get back to the actual context of the verse, the peace that comes from studying Scripture will enable you to keep upright. When a stumbling-block is laid where your next step is going to land, and there is “raised portion” instead, you will not be so apt to fall to the ground.

Like me, the moves you make to remain upright might be entertaining, but at least you won’t hit the ground!

This entry was posted in devotion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

