Rhetorical Words of Elihu


From Pastor’s Desk:

Job 33:4 The Spirit of God has made me; the breath of the Almighty gives me life.

***

Elihu, after waiting for his elders, finally speaks to the issue at hand, at great length I might add.

It is interesting to me that after Job’s other “friends” had presented their “two cents worth” God Himself said what He had to say to Job. Job had already stood true to God, evident by his words “I know that my redeemer liveth, and that he shall stand at the latter day upon the earth…” (19:25). “…he knoweth the way that I take: when he hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold” (23:10) further substantiates his faith in God. He had earlier stood in the face contempt in the form of his wife as she “said his wife unto him, Dost thou still retain thine integrity? curse God, and die” (2:9).

That said, can we not assume that Elihu’s words were rather rhetorical, and consequently wasted since it is evident that Job’s faith in God had come the very knowledge that God had made him, and that the breath of God gave him life?

This entry was posted in devotion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

