Reflection in a Mirror


From Pastor’s Desk:

1 Corinthians 13:12 …now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

***

It is difficult to comprehend that we will ever know God completely, yet that’s what this verse says. Even with all the great minds that shed light and insight to the gospel, we will never be able, in this life, to know God as He knows us. The Bible declares that the hairs upon our heads are numbered (Matthew 10:30).

Our knowledge of God is obscure, even mysterious. It is like looking through a stain-glass window. We are able to see the silhouette of someone or something on the other side, but we can’t see clearly enough to define the feature of the person or object. That’s how Paul is describing our knowledge of God. We strive to see, we study His word to see Him more clearly, but at best all we get is a “silhouette.”

What a day that will be when my Jesus I shall see

When I look upon His face the One who saved me by His grace

When He takes me by the hand and leads me to the Promised Land

What a day, glorious day that will be

What a glorious day when we know Him as He knows us!

This entry was posted in devotion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

