Strength through Weakness


From Pastor’s Desk:
2 Corinthians 12:9-10 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
 
***
 
I think God was telling Paul, “You can’t do this anyway, so just move over, hide yourself in the shadow of the cross, and let me be God because I AM and you’re not.”
 
The problem with weaknesses is that we are prone to let them define us, at least those of us who will admit we have them. We tend to use them as excuses for not doing anything for the Lord. After all, how could He “use me with all my weaknesses?” Right?
 
It will do us well to remember that God does not exploit our weakness, the devil does. Rather like Elijah sitting under the Juniper tree telling God to just let him die. His problem was that he was reacting to a threat that did not come from God, but rather from an evil person who wanted to kill him. He wasn’t thinking rationally due to fear of his life. If he had been, he would have known that if God wanted him dead, he would be.
 
Those who will not admit to weaknesses are not going to see God’s strength made perfect in their lives. Stubborn attitudes, along with pride, stifles any hope of yielding their will to His, in order for Him to work His will in them.
 
The reason, in my opinion, Paul could accept God’s word that His strength would be made perfect in his weakness, and delight in that fact, is given in that last few words of the verse, “…when I am weak, then I am strong.” Paul certainly realized that he could do nothing without Christ, yet he is the one who wrote, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” (Phil. 4:13).
 
When we learn to give all our faults, inability, and incapability to God we will be on our way to becoming who God wants us to be, and doing what He wants us to do.
 
That will be His strength working through our weakness.
This entry was posted in devotion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

