The Whole Tithe


From Pastor’s Desk: 11-6-16

Malachi 3:10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.

***

Many pastors fail to teach/preach on tithing while others, in my opinion, go to the extreme in the other direction.

Sharing what manifold blessings are naturally enfolded in tithing should be a blessing within itself. I am one pastor who does wish to leave that kind of message to an evangelist. Admittedly, when I was evangelizing, there were times that, within the text of a message, I dealt with it. But it was never my intention of taking that privilege from the local pastor.

There is an old adage that says, “You can’t out-give God.” While this has been basically “worn out” over the years, it still is true. The very permission from God Himself to “try (test) me” is enough reason to believe that you can’t out-give Him. If that is not enough, then the last part of the verse certainly is. Meditate upon that for a moment, especially “…so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.”

I have known people through the years that actually have “given” their way out of debt, by determining to tithe regularly. I’m not talking about sending “seed faith money” to a preacher on television, because the Bible is clear that tithe should be given to the local church of which one is a member. If one elects to support various ministries aside from their local church, that should be considered an offering to that ministry, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. But, and I cannot be more emphatic on this issue, tithing should be done for the benefit of the local ministry and community wherein it is located.

Tithing should be done with one primary thought in mind. Ten percent of one’s income, according the Scriptural principle, is not ours to begin with, it belongs to God.

It helps me to process it this way: God only requires 10% and lets me keep 90%.

Oh, what He can do with the 10%! What blessings He showers upon those who give it to Him; “…blessing that you will not have room enough for…” Sunset over Mountain Range

This entry was posted in devotion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

