Fear Is Not an Option


From Pastor’s Desk:

Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ – Isaiah 41:10 NKJV

***

Five promises wrapped up in this verse: “I am with you…I am your God…I will strengthen…I will help…I will uphold you…”

Why would we fear in the light of those promises? But yet we do. I would argue that the greatest fear is the fear of the unknown. Would it not stand to reason then, that the more we know God, the less we fear?

Fear materializes from the things we don’t know, and don’t understand. It has been said that, for instance, a diagnosis hidden from the person with an illness is much more likely to cause consternation in the person than knowing for certain the root cause. In other words, one needs to know how to make good, wise decisions, and how can that be when they don’t know?

It’s like that spiritually as well, in my opinion. We are never going to know “what’s around the bend” or “what’s coming tomorrow.” Only God knows those things. Instead of concentrating on things of which we have no control of, and allowing them to effect fear, it behooves us to know God better and better. We can do that by starting with knowing that His promises are true, and that He is faithful to perform all His promises.

The more we know God, the less we will fear!

Sunset over Mountain Range

This entry was posted in devotion and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

